WHAT IS THE OBSERVATORY ON PRACTICES OF ENTREPRENEURS AND ENTERPRISES ?


A mixed team of researchers and practitioners to contribute to business success and growth

The OPEE was created at the initiative of a group of researchers and professors in economics, management and statisticians who are keen to put their knowledge at the service of companies, entrepreneurs and policymakers. They are engaged in a knowledge-sharing process from a viewpoint of inclusive development.

OPEE's teams come directly from the academic world or maintain close collaboration with the world of research.

Assess the positioning of any enterprise and evaluate the impact of support measures dedicated to this enterprise.

SBAT (Small Business Assessment Tool) is above all a tool designed for micro-enterprises and SMEs. It aims not only to evaluate their activity but also to compare it with their main competitors' activities. This tool guides an entrepreneur in its decision-making process based on its market position, in order to ensure a safer and more prosperous future for his company.

SBAT also allows policymakers to assess the scope and effectiveness of public policies to support entrepreneurship. By measuring the evolution and the path followed by a company, SBAT provides a framework for the formulation of action proposals for the benefit of companies.

HOW IT WORKS?


A diagnostic in two stages!

1 First stage: Determine the Business Model


The first step in self-analysis is to determine the business environment of your business. The nature of your production process and the market on which you are positioned are identified through a dozen key questions about your products, your competitors and suppliers, your approach to competition.

At the end of that stage you will know:


  • How your enterprise measures up to its competitors
  • How your enterprise measures up to its competitors
  • Your strengths and weaknesses within this business model
  • Your business potential
  • Your business potential

Four business models have been identified with reference to a theory developed by Robert Salais and Michael Storper: https://www.amazon.fr/mondes-production-Enquête-lidentité-économique/dp/2713210062

Price competitiveness business model

Companies offer standard and generic products, employ a uniform workforce, and aim minimizing the cost of their production factors. Underlying industrial standardization and market predictability make it possible to develop production plans and adapt production equipment to deal with expected economic risk.

Innovative business model

New services and new product are designed and created to answer new needs or to find new uses for existing products. Companies belonging to this model create a general knowledge that can be adapted to various uses or is able to introduce change in existing production processes. Their main problem is to balance taste for novelty and acceptance.

Economies of scope business model

These companies adapt products provided by firms belonging to the price competitiveness business model to meet a particular demand: they sell standard products to specific customers. Activities are designed according to the buyer’s requirements. The few producers who can meet this demand compete with each other on the basis of price and speed of delivery. Great flexibility is needed to respond to customers' changing requirements.

Customer relationship business model

These firms offer specific products through highly specialized production process. Their output relies on specialized skills and know-how of individuals organized to respect the preferences of specific customers. Personal relationships matter and are a core asset for these companies. Firms provide personalized products or services and need to create accurate expectations and be very flexible to keep their position in the market. Investments in intangible assets and human capital are crucial.

2 Second stage: the enterprise position


Once the reference business model has been identified, the company's position on various aspects can be assessed.

Financing

This component is designed to determine whether the financial structure of your company corresponds to that of its reference model and to draw up an inventory regarding eligibility for access to financial resources. Your answers will help establish a diagnostic of the nature of the relationships with financial partners and thus better initiate future discussions to negotiate new financing.

Innovation

The objective in this section is to analyze your business propensity for innovation, but also to initiate changes to your products the design and creation,in order to improve your company’s competitive position.competitors. The analysis of the replies the questionnaire will allow us to evaluate your ability to evolve and reinvent your working techniques and production methods.

Internationalisation

By exploring in detail, the different import and export activities that together shape internationalization, respondents will have a clearer vision of their international development strategy.The international component identifies weak points in the internationalization strategy adopted and identifies areas for improvement or changes.

Leadership

Through this component we will be able to discern your entrepreneurial qualities in terms of attitude, motivation and and ability. Thus, the answers collected make it possible to establish a realistic description of your skills as a leader and to suggest and prioritize ways for improvement.

Human ressources

In this part we will evaluate the human capital of your company and your methods of human resources management. In this way, you will know more precisely the training needs, be more efficient or recruitments and improve working conditions to increase the quality of life at work for your employees.

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)

Through this component you will be able to appreciate the level and nature of social and environmental responsibility practices in your company. You will know the strengths and possible margins of progress in the implementation of a CSR strategy in order to reach a leader position in this field and, thus, conquer markets and win contracts for which this dimension plays an important role.

A UNIQUE AND INNOVATIVE APPROACH


A global approach of the firm, richer than a simple financial analysis

A vision of the enterprise beyond finance: SBAT is based on a multi-criteria analysis of the company and for this reason offers a more reliable diagnosis and advice than those produced by a chartered accountant who has a comparison benchmark and more limited analysis techniques.

Techniques based on Artificial Intelligence (AI), far beyond expertise

To date, there is no real expert system specialized in diagnosing SMEs using artificial intelligence approaches and Machine Learning tools. SBAT is a leader in this field and its experts are putting their experience at the service of SMEs.

Targeting the needs of SMEs, but useful for all

Corporate defaults related to small and young enterprises is a matter of concern to government, which devote large amounts to providing assistance and advice to companies in early stage. These resources are spread over a large number of support structures which, for the most part,rely on classical tools of financial analysis. SBAT's methodological and software innovations help improve the quality of services provided to small businesses, consolidate entrepreneurial systems, achieve competitiveness gains and create or maintain jobs.

An interdisciplinary team, not just management experts

The culture of interdisciplinarity characterizes all participants in the project. It facilitates mutual understanding and the development of common solutions on a daily basis as well as in the event of difficulties. Crossing ideas will also be facilitated by this culture.

OUR SERVICE


ANALYSIS AND MEASUREMENT OF ADVANCED PERFORMANCE, ACCESSIBLE TO ALL


OPEE provides a framework for the formulation of action proposals by and for companies and has created a tool for this purpose SBAT (Small Business Assessment Tool).


SBAT is a tool designed for micro-firms and SMEs. It aims not only to evaluate but also compare their activity with those of their competitors. SBAT operates on the basis of qualitative and declarative information provided online by entrepreneurs and processed using deep learning techniques that allow to carry out diagnoses without bias on the ideal company profile. SBAT can also be used by local communities, governments and international organizations, as a tool for analyzing public policies to support entrepreneurship.
SBAT aims at:

  • Identifying the strengths and weaknesses of a company,
  • Assisting entrepreneurs in making the best decisions through exploiting their business.
  • Developing entrepreneurship within territories,
  • Assisting governments to carry out the best entrepreneurship policies.

SBAT is completely confidential, secure, user-friendly and has no commercial purpose. The questionnaire is mutually beneficial:

  • Entrepreneurs receive direct assistance to develop their business in the best possible way,
  • In doing so, they participate in a data collection operation that will have a significant impact on academic research aimed at improving and developing business and entrepreneurship support policies.

JOIN THE SBAT COMMUNITY: LET US DO IT, TOGETHER!


SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCES AND HELP US BUILD THE MOST GLOBAL AND ACCURATE DIAGNOSIS

Entrepreneur

You are an entrepreneur, managing a company with 1 to 50 employees. You want to compare your business to other companies, keep record of this analysis. The SBAT diagnosis tool generates a diagnosis report of your company. This report contains a brief summary of basic information, a presentation of your company's reference business model and its positioning relative to peers, as well as a complete diagnosis for each of the components proposed by the expert systemthat you chose to provide information. It also indicates the weaknesses of your business and areas for improvement. We would like you to contribute to the OPEE, but we would like you even more to participate in the SBAT Community to witness, improve, propose and develop this concept.

Researcher

You are a researcher in management sciences, statistics and artificial intelligence. You want to share your scientific knowledge with the OPEE team and be part of this adventure. SBAT is a project based on interdisciplinarity and each researcher can contribute to the building.

Employers' organization

You are an employers' organization, a business network, a sectoral union, etc. You wish to cooperate with the OPEE for a specific or sectoral study in order to study in depth the firms which are members of your organization? Do not hesitate to be part of the community.

Local authority

You are a local authority, Chamber of Commerce and Industry, a business support structure, etc. Do you want to improve your evaluation methods of your actions for entrepreneurship and SME development? Feel free to be part of the community and help us propose specific evaluation methods adapted to your actions.

OPEE TEAM


CONTACT


IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTION OR IF YOU WISH TO INTERACT WITH THE OPEE TEAM

Forms


Partners

QU'EST-CE QUE L’OBSERVATOIRE DES PRATIQUES DES ENTREPRENEURS ET DES ENTREPRISES ?


Une équipe mixte de chercheurs et de praticiens pour contribuer au succès et à la croissance des entreprises

L’OPEE a été créé à l’initiative d’un groupe de chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs économistes, gestionnaires et statisticiens soucieux de mettre leurs connaissances au service des entreprises, des entrepreneurs et des décideurs publics. Ils sont engagés dans une démarche de partage des connaissances dans une optique de développement inclusif.

Les équipes de l’OPEE sont directement issues soit du monde académique, soit entretiennent d’étroites collaborations avec le monde de la recherche.

Apprécier le positionnement de toute entreprise et évaluer l’impact des mesures mises en œuvre pour la soutenir

SBAT (Small Business Assessment Tool) est avant tout un outil conçu pour les TPE et PME. Il vise non seulement à évaluer leur activité mais aussi à la comparer à celles des principaux concurrents. Cet outil permet ainsi à tout entrepreneur d’orienter ses décisions en fonction de son positionnement de marché pour assurer un avenir plus sûr et prospère à l’entreprise qu’il dirige.

SBAT permet également aux décideurs publics d’évaluer la portée et l’efficacité des politiques publiques de soutien à l’entrepreneuriat. En mesurant l’évolution d’une entreprise et sa trajectoire, SBAT offre un cadre à la formulation de propositions d’action au bénéfice des entreprises.

COMMENT ÇA MARCHE ?


Un diagnostic en deux étapes !

1 Première étape : déterminer le modèle d’affaire


La première étape de l’auto-analyse vise à déterminer l’environnement d’affaire de référence de votre entreprise. La nature de votre processus de production et le marché sur lequel vous vous positionnez sont identifiés grâce à une douzaine de questions clefs concernant vos produits, vos concurrents et fournisseurs, votre approche de la concurrence.

A l’issue de cette étape vous connaîtrez :


  • Votre position par rapport à vos concurrents
  • La cohérence interne de votre entreprise
  • Vos forces et faiblesses au sein de ce modèle d’affaires
  • Le potentiel de votre entreprise
  • Les points d’amélioration

Quatre modèles d’affaires ont été identifiés en référence à une théorie développée par Robert Salais et Michael Storper : https://www.amazon.fr/mondes-production-Enquête-lidentité-économique/dp/2713210062

Modèle de concurrence par les coûts

Les entreprises offrent des produits standards et génériques, emploient une main-d'œuvre uniforme et cherchent à minimiser le coût de leurs facteurs de production. La standardisation et la prévisibilité du marché permettent d'établir des plans de production et d'adapter l'équipement productif au risque économique attendu.

Modèle de l’innovation

Les nouveaux services et les nouvelles familles de produits sont conçus et créés pour répondre aux besoins nouveaux ou pour trouver de nouvelles utilisations à des produits existants. Les entreprises relevant de ce modèle créent une connaissance générale qui peut être adaptée à diverses utilisations ou capable d'introduire des changements dans les processus de production déjà existants. Leur principal problème est d'équilibrer le goût de la nouveauté et son acceptation.

Modèle des économies de gamme

Les entreprises qui s’y rattachent adaptent les produits fournis par d’autres pour répondre à une demande particulière : elles vendent des produits standards à des clients spécifiques. Les activités sont conçues pour répondre aux exigences de l'acheteur. Les producteurs qui peuvent répondre à cette demande se concurrencent sur la base du prix et de la rapidité de livraison. Une grande flexibilité est nécessaire pour répondre aux préférences changeantes des clients.

Modèle de la relation client

Ces entreprises offrent des produits dédiés à travers un processus de production très spécialisé. Leur efficacité repose sur les compétences spécialisées et le savoir-faire de collaborateurs organisés pour respecter les préférences de clients spécifiques. Les relations personnelles sont importantes et constituent un atout essentiel. Les entreprises fournissent des produits ou des services personnalisés et doivent susciter des attentes précises et être très flexibles pour maintenir leur position sur le marché. Les investissements dans les actifs incorporels et dans le capital humain sont cruciaux.

2 Deuxième étape : position de l’entreprise


Une fois le modèle d’affaire de référence identifié, on peut passer à l’évaluation de la position de l’entreprise sur différents aspects.

Financement

Ce volet a pour but de déterminer si la structure financière de votre entreprise correspond à celle de son modèle de référence et de dresser un état des lieux de ses conditions d’accès aux ressources financières. Vos réponses permettront d’établir un diagnostic sur la nature des relations avec les partenaires financiers et, ainsi, de mieux engager les futures discussions pour négocier de nouveaux financements.

Innovation

L’objectif dans ce volet est d'analyser la propension à innover de votre entreprise mais aussi d’initier les changements à apporter dans la conception et la création de vos produits pour améliorer la position de votre entreprise par rapport à ses concurrents. L’exploitation des réponses au questionnaire nous permettra d'évaluer votre aptitude à évoluer et réinventer vos techniques de travail et vos modes de production.

Internationalisation

En explorant en détail les différentes activités d’importation et d’exportation qui, ensemble, façonnent l’internationalisation, les répondants auront une vision plus précise de leur stratégie de développement à l’international. Le volet international repère les points faibles de la stratégie d’internationalisation adoptée et identifie les points à améliorer ou les modifications à apporter.

Leadership

Grâce à ce volet nous pourrons discerner vos qualités entrepreneuriales en termes d’attitude, de motivation et d’aptitude. Les réponses aini collectées permettent d’établir une description réaliste de vos compétences en tant que leader et de vous suggérer des pistes d’amélioration et leur ordre de priorité.

Ressources Humaines

Dans ce volet nous évaluerons le capital humain de votre entreprise et vos méthodes de gestion des ressources humaines. Vous connaîtrez ainsi plus précisément les besoins en matière de formation, serez plus efficace pour les recrutements et pourrez améliorer les conditions de travail pour augmenter la qualité de vie au travail de vos salariés.

Responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise (RSE)

Grâce à ce volet vous pourrez apprécier le niveau et la nature des pratiques de responsabilité sociale et environnementale de votre entreprise. Vous connaitrez les points forts et les marges de progrès possibles dans la mise en place d’une stratégie de RSE de manière à vous positionner comme leader dans ce domaine et, ainsi, conquérir des marchés et gagner des contrats dans lesquels cette dimension joue un rôle important.

UNE APPROCHE ORIGINALE ET INNOVANTE


Une approche globale de l’entreprise, plus riche qu’une simple analyse financière

Une vision de l’entreprise au-delà de la finance : SBAT repose sur une analyse multicritère de l’entreprise et pour cette raison propose un diagnostic et des conseils plus fiables que ceux produits par un expert-comptable qui possède un référentiel de comparaison et des techniques d’analyses plus limités.

Des techniques fondées sur l’intelligence artificielle (IA), bien au-delà de l’expertise

À ce jour, il n’existe aucun véritable système expert spécialisé dans le diagnostic des PME utilisant les approches de l’intelligence artificielle et les outils d’apprentissage automatique (Machine Learning). SBAT est un leader dans ce domaine et ses experts mettent leur expérience au service des PME.

Un ciblage sur les besoins des PME, mais utile pour tous

La défaillance des petites et jeunes entreprises préoccupe les pouvoirs publics qui consacrent d’importants montants à l’apport d’aides et de conseils aux entreprises en phase de création. Ces moyens sont dispersés sur un grand nombre de structures d’appui qui, pour une grande majorité, s’appuient sur les outils classiques de l’analyse financière. Les innovations méthodologiques et logicielles de SBAT permettent d’améliorer la qualité des services rendus aux petites entreprises, de consolider les systèmes entrepreneuriaux, de réaliser des gains de compétitivité et de créer ou maintenir des emplois.

Une équipe interdisciplinaire, pas seulement des experts en management

La culture de l’interdisciplinarité caractérise tous les participants au projet. Elle facilite la compréhension mutuelle et l’élaboration de solutions communes au quotidien aussi bien qu’en cas de survenance de difficultés. Le croisement d’idées sera également facilité par cette culture.

NOTRE SERVICE


ANALYSE ET MESURE DE PERFORMANCE AVANCÉE, À LA PORTÉE DE TOUS


L’OPEE offre un cadre à la formulation de propositions d’actions par et pour les entreprises et a créé un outil à cette fin : SBAT (Small Business Assessment Tool / Outil d’évaluation des PME).


SBAT est un outil conçu pour les TPE et PME. Il vise non seulement à évaluer leur activité mais aussi à la comparer à celles de leurs concurrents. SBAT fonctionne sur la base d’informations qualitatives et déclaratives fournies en ligne par les entrepreneurs et traitées à l’aide de techniques de deep learning (l’apprentissage en profondeur), qui permettent de réaliser des diagnostics sans a priori sur le profil idéal d’une entreprise. SBAT peut également servir aux collectivités locales, aux gouvernements et aux organismes internationaux d’outil d’analyse des politiques publiques de soutien à l’entrepreneuriat.
SBAT a pour but :

  • D’identifier les forces et faiblesses de votre entreprise
  • D’aider les entrepreneurs à prendre les meilleures décisions en valorisant les points forts de leur business,
  • De développer l’entrepreneuriat au sein des territoires
  • D’aider les pouvoirs publics à mener les meilleures politiques d’entrepreneuriat.

SBAT est totalement confidentiel, sécurisé, simple d’utilisation et n’a aucune finalité commerciale. Le questionnaire est mutuellement bénéfique :

  • Les entrepreneurs bénéficient d’une aide directe pour développer au mieux leur entreprise,
  • Ce faisant, ils participent à une opération de collecte de données qui aura un impact considérable sur la recherche universitaire visant à améliorer et développer les politiques de soutien aux entreprises et à l’entrepreneuriat.

REJOIGNEZ LA COMMUNAUTÉ SBAT: FAISONS-LE ENSEMBLE !


PARTAGEZ VOS EXPÉRIENCES ET AIDEZ-NOUS À CONSTRUIRE LE DIAGNOSTIC LE PLUS GLOBALE ET LE PLUS PRÉCIS

Entrepreneur

Vous êtes entrepreneur, dirigeant d’une entreprise de 1 à 50 salariés. Vous souhaitez comparer votre entreprise à d’autres entreprises, et disposer d’une trace de l’analyse de sa situation. L’outil de diagnostic SBAT génère un rapport de diagnostic de votre entreprise. Ce rapport contient un bref résumé des informations de base, une présentation du modèle d’affaire de référence de votre entreprise et de son positionnement par rapport à ses semblables et un diagnostic complet pour chacun des volets proposés par le système expert que vous aurez choisi de renseigner. Il indique aussi les faiblesses de votre entreprise et les points à améliorer. Nous aimerions que vous contribuiez à l’OPEE, mais nous aimerions encore plus que vous participiez à la Communauté SBAT pour témoigner, améliorer, proposer et développer ce concept.

Chercheur

Vous êtes chercheur en sciences de management, statistiques et intelligence artificielle. Vous souhaitez partager vos connaissances scientifiques avec l’équipe de l’OPEE et faire partie de cette aventure. SBAT est un projet basé sur l’interdisciplinarité et chaque chercheur peut apporter sa pierre à l’édifice.

Organisation patronale

Vous êtes une organisation patronale, un réseau d’entreprises, une union sectorielle, etc. Vous souhaitez coopérer avec l’OPEE pour une étude spécifique ou sectorielle afin d’étudier en profondeur les entreprises membres de votre organisation ? N’hésitez pas à faire partie de la communauté.

Collectivité territoriale

Vous êtes une collectivité territoriale, chambre de commerce et d’industrie, une structure d’appui aux entreprises, etc. Vous souhaitez améliorer vos méthodes d’évaluation des actions que vous menez en matière d’entrepreneuriat et le développement des PME ? N’hésitez pas à faire partie de la communauté nous aider à proposer des méthodes d’évaluation spécifiques et adaptés à vos actions.

ÉQUIPE DE L’OPEE


CONTACT


SI VOUS AVEZ UNE QUESTION OU SI VOUS AVEZ ENVIE D'INTERAGIR AVEC L’ÉQUIPE D’OPEE

Formulaire


Partenaires